2021 KANSAS OPEN REPORT

The **2021 Kansas Open** was held July 16-18, 2021 at the SpringHill Suites Hotel in Lawrence, KS. The event was well attended. There were three events. On Friday afternoon there was the Bughouse event with 9 teams. The Blitz tourney was held Friday night with 30 participants. And, the main event consisting of three sections: **Open** (33 participants), **Reserve** U1800 (25 participants), and **Amateur** U1400 (50 participants). The vast majority of participants were from Kansas but there were other states participating. In the Blitz tourney there were 3 players from Missouri. In the main event consisting of 108 participants in the three sections: 11 were from Missouri, 5 from Colorado, 3 from Arkansas, 1 from Texas, 1 from Nebraska, and 1 from New York. All the rest were from Kansas.

The **Bughouse event** held Friday afternoon consisted of 9 teams playing four rounds where they played two games against each team each round. Thus, it was possible to score 8 points. The winning team was Tony Dutiel and Ben Gradsky with 7.0 points, only losing one game. Second place was the team of Sho Glaushausser and Sameeth Sheshappa scoring 6.0 points with two losses. The team of Dutiel and Gradsky wins the event. They have won the event several years in a row.

The **Blitz** as stated consisted of 30 participants. It was 5 rounds playing two games against each opponent. Games were Blitz games with 5 minutes on the clock and no time delay. There was a three way tie for first place at 8.0 points between Ben Gradsky, Rahul Manohar Mepparambath, and Josh Fernandes. First place, second place and third place money was combined and split among these three players. Ben Gradsky is from Missouri. Rahul Mepparambath is the new Kansas Blitz champion by tiebreaks. Other prizes were spit between Jason Wawrzaszek, Luke Tran, John Drippe, and Akerth Jain who all scored 7.0 points out of 10.0 points possible. There were also three scholastic plaques given out with Oliver Rana getting first at 6.5 points, Edward McDonald getting second at 4.0 points, and Noah Bruggeman getting third place also with 4.0 points.

As stated the **Main event** consisted of three sections. The **Open section** had 33 participants. Winning first place all by himself was Sameeth Sheshappa with a perfect score of 5 wins and no losses. He is our new Kansas Chess Champion. Luydmyla Mokryak and Luke Tran tied for second with 4.0 points out of 5 possible. There was a 5 way tie for the U1900 prize with 3.0 points between Chanaka Samarathungage, Andrew Bledsoe, Ankith Sheshappa, Joshua Fernandes, and Kiana Hajiarbabi.

The **Reserve section** had 25 participants. First place by himself was Josh Stimpfle with a score of 4.5 points (4 wins and 1 draw). He is our new Kansas Reserve Section Champion. There was a two way tie for second between Samual Sexton and Michael Paulson at 4.0 points. Oliver Ohly, Eugin Pahk, and Edward Wilson shared the U1600 prize at 3.5 points. Scholastic plaque winners were Sophia Sun and Oliver Rana.

The **Amateur section** had 50 participants. Moseis Trujillo and Matt Samich tied for first at 4.5 points. Matt won the plaque on tiebreaks and is our

new Kansas Open Amateur Section champion. Then, there were 5 players finishing third with 4.0 points: James Myose, Brendan Jones, Havish Kunchanapalli, Timothy Loewen, and Alexander Ulrich. Scholastic plaque winners were Edward McDowell and Adelaide McDowell.

We want to all those who participated and in tourney and to director CJ Armenta for all his hard work. Brian Yang who could not direct as he was directing National tourneys (Girls, US Junior boys, and Senior Event) in St. Louis set up the registration for the event with King Registration. Brian Yang is our outgoing President of KCA as Kyle Camarda was elected our new KCA President at the Annual KCA meeting held on Sunday morning during the event. This year the Annual Meeting was also well attended with 19 attending.



Open Section Winner and New Kansas State Champion Sameeth Sheshappa wirh tourney director CJ Armenta



Reserve Section Winner Josh Stimpfle with CJ Armenta



Amateur Section Winner Matt Samich with CJ



New Kansas Blitz champion Rahul Manohar Mapparambath with CJ



Bughouse Champion Winning Team Ben Gradsky and Tony Dutiel

Photo Sharing link https://photos.app.goo.gl/1WFNdviqXtRTnRQ59