## 2019 KANSAS OPEN REPORT

The **2019 Kansas Open** was held at the Holiday Inn in east Wichita, KS July 19 to 21. It consisted of three events: the Bughouse tourney, the Blitz tourney, and the Kansas Open main event consisting of three sections: Open, Reserve, and Amateur sections.

The **Bughouse tourney** was held the afternoon of Friday July 19. There were 11 teams with two players on a team. The format was 4 rounds with 2 games played in each of the four rounds. Winning the event was the team of Tony Dutiel and Ben Gradsky. This team has won several times in the past. They finished undefeated at 8.0 points. There was a three way time for second place with 6.0 points out of 8.0.for teams Fernandes-Jack Easton, Coker-McGinty, and Teubner-Luke Tran.

The **Blitz event** was held Friday evening the 19 of July. The event was a double round swiss event with 5 rounds and 2 games each round against each opponent. The event had 41 participating: 5 from Missouri, 4 from Oklahoma, 3 from Colorado, and the rest from Kansas. Finishing in first place by himself with 8.5 points out a possible 10.0 points was Colorado player Daniel Herman. He took home first place money. Then, there was a four way tie for second place at 7.5 points between Kansas player Jack Easton, Kansas scholastic player Luke Tran, Colorado player Sullivan McConnell, and Missouri player Bob Holliman. Jack Easton on tie breaks was named Kansas Blitz champion, the award given to the top Kansas player in this event. Under 2100 rated prizes went to Colorado player Griffin McConnell and Kansas player Jason Wawrzaszek, both with 7.0 points. Kansas player Joshua Fernandes won the top U1800 prize, also at 7.0 points. Kansas player Timothy Loewen won the U1500 rated prize at 4.5 points. Scholastic trophies went to Luke Tran (7.5 points), Sameeth Sheshappa (6.0 points), and Joel Edward Doolittle (6.0 points) finishing first, second, and third respectively.

As state the **MAIN EVENT** July 20 and 21 consisted of three sections, Open, Reserve (U1800), and Amateur (U1400). There were 40 in the Open section, 28 in Reserve section, and 38 in the Amateur section.

The **Open section** this year was the largest section of the three sections with 40 participants. Other states, other than Kansas, were represented with 5 each from Oklahoma and Missouri, 4 from Colorado, and 1 each from Nebraska, Arkansas, and New Jersey. Finishing all by himself with 4.5 points out of 5 was Kansas player Jack Easton. By doing so he is crowned Kansas State champion, an award he has now won for the fourth year in a row. There was a three way tie for second place at 4.0 points between Kansas players Joseph Serwadda and Jason Wawrzaszek and Missouri player Frank Smith. The under 1900 rated prize was split between Kansas players Tony Bergida and Sameeth Sheshappa and Oklahoma player Jim Huang, each with 3.0 points.

The **Reserve section** was the smallest of the three sections with 28 participants. There were 5 Missouri players and 2 Oklahoma players, all the rest from Kansas. There was a three way tie for first place at 4.0 points between

Kansas players Ryan Duan, Puwit Sky Moerlien, and Solomon Wu. As Ryan Duan and Solomon Wu both played as scholastic players, not competing for money, Sky took home first place money. Ryan Duan by tie breaks is the Kansas Reserve section champion. Solomon Wu took home the first place scholastic award in the section. There was a four way tie for second place at 3.5 points between Kansas players Sam Un, Charles Carlson, and Navneet Ramkumar and Missouri player Charles David Kearns. Un, Carlson, and Kearns split second and third place moneys while Ramkumar took home the second place scholastic trophy in the section.

The **Amateur section** had 38 players participating. All players were from Kansas except for 5 from Oklahoma and 2 from Missouri. Finishing all by himself in first place with a perfect score of 5 wins out of 5 games was Kansas player Shawn Treiber. He is the new Kansas Amateur section champion. There was a four way tie for second place between Kansas players Don Johnson, Akerth Jain, and Saijah Singh and Oklahoma player Luke Seidl. Don Johnson and Luke Seidl split second and third place moneys. Saijah won the first place scholastic trophy by tie breaks and Akerth won second place scholastic. There was a three way tie for U1200 at 3.0 points between Oklahoma player Benjamin Li and Kansas players Timothy Loewen and Chase Horton.



Tourney director Brian Yang with Kansas Open champion Jack Easton. Jack was the overall winner of Open Section. He is also the Kansas Open Kansas Blitz champion though he was not overall Blitz champion.



Brian Yang with Kansas Reserve Section Champion by tie breaks Ryan Duan



Kansas Amateur Section Champion Shawn Treiber (finished with 5 wins in 5 games)



Overall Blitz champion Colorado player Daniel Herman playing Joe Serwadda who finished tied for second in Open section. Jason Wawrzaszek in maroon shirt in background. Luke Tran standing.



Tourney director Brian Yang with Jason Wawrzaszek who finished tied for second in Open section



Frank Smith from Missouri who finished tied for second in Open section.
Unknown person in background.



Puwit Sky Moerlien playing Charles David Kearns. Sky won first place money in Reserve Section though he was not overall champion by tie breaks. Dave Kearns was one of the two top finishing U1600 players in Reserve section with 3.5 points.



Brian Yang with Solomon Wu. Solomon finished tied for first in Reserve Section. He won first place Scholastic trophy on tie breaks. He did not compete for money prizes.

GOOGLE PHOTO SHARING LINK FOR PHOTOS FROM KANSAS OPEN. You can download photos. (this is a new link 7/29/19- other link put in first did not work)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/x89Difm5v4f8vYbq6