2018 KANSAS OPEN REPORT

The **2018 Kansas Open** was held July 13-15 and the Clarion Hotel in Lenexa, Kansas. It was well attended. There were 8 teams in the Bughouse, 35 entries in the Blitz, and 127 in the main tourney: 30 in Open, 39 in Reserve, and 58 in the Amateur sections. Of the 127 entries in the main event Kansas had the largest contingent with 84 players followed by 32 from Missouri, 5 from Nebraska, 1 from Oklahoma, 1 from Texas, 1 from Illinois, and 1 from New Jersey, 1 from Florida, and 1 from Iowa.

With the **Bughouse** event (held Friday afternoon) all entries were onsite with no pre-entries. There were 8 teams, down from last years 18 teams. The event was 4 rounds with two games played against each opponent. The team of Ben Gradsky and Tony Dutiel won first with a score of 7 out of 8. This was their third win in this event in the last three years. There was a three way tie at 5.0 points between teams Camarda-Nimkar, Tran-Mepparambath, and Aboushark-Sheshappa.

The **Blitz event** had 22 early entries and had 13 entries onsite. The event was a double round swiss event with 5 rounds of two games for the second year in a row. At 8.5 points out of 10.0 there was a tie for first place between Kansas players Ben Gradsky and Brian Yang. Brian received Kansas Blitz champion award on tiebreaks. Tied for third and fourth at 8.0 points were Kansas player Jack Easton and Missouri player Ron Luther. Scholastic trophy winners first to third place were Luke Tran, Thoshan Omprakash, and Ankith Sheshappa. All three had 6.0 points. Places were determined by tiebreaks

The **main event** held July 14 and 15 we had 88 advance entries and 39 onsite entries.

The **Open section** was very competitive. At 4.0 points there was a four way tie for first place. Tied at 4.0 points were Kansas players Rahul Mepparambath and Jack Easton and Missouri chess players IM Michael Brooks and Benjamin Shoykhet. It went to tiebreak consideration between the two Kansas players: **Jack Easton is crowned the 2018 Kansas State champion**. This is the third year in a row this scholastic player has won the Kansas Championship. This is the longest winning streak of Kansas Championships since Michael Weirzbicki won or tied the title nine times in a row from 1981 to 1989. Tied for fifth through sixth at 3.5 points were Kansas players WIM Luidmila Mokriak and Joseph Serwadda The U1900 winner at 3.0 points was Missouri player Jared Anthony Bray.

The **Reserve section** had 39 players for the second year in a row. There was a two way tie at 4.5 points for first place between Ryan Duan and Puwit Sky Moerlien. They drew their last game as they played each other in the last round. Puwit Sky Moerlien is crowned 2018 Kansas reserve champion on tiebreaks Alone at 4.0 points was Missouri player Sushen Kolakaleti. There was a prize for U1600 in the Reserve section. There was a four way tie at 3.0 points between Kansas player Charles Carlson, Missouri players Sandy Ramphal and Kevin Y Li, and Illinois player Gary Levine. First place scholastic award went to Missouri player at 3.0 points Celina Zhou. Second place scholastic winner was Chinmay

Krishna also at 3.0 points. Tiebreaks decided the difference between first and second place scholastic awards.

The **Amateur section** had 59 participants. In first place by himself was Kansas player Michael N. Paulson. He finished with a perfect 5 wins in 5 games. He is the 2018 Kansas Amateur champion. In second place by himself at 4.5 points was Missouri player Roldolfo Salvatierra. There were 4 players tied with 4.0 points- Kansas players Xueyi Chen, Uday Kabirpanthi, and Solomon Wu and Missouri player Evan Zhang. Xueyi Chen and Evan Zhang split third place money. Uday Kabirpanthi won the U1200 prize. Solomon Wu won first place scholastic award. Second place scholastic award was given to Kansas player Swarup S. Kesarkar at 3.5 points.

Make plans for the **2019 Kansas Open**. It will be in Wichita at the Holiday Inn, Kansas July 19 to 21. This is the same site as the 2017 Kansas Open.

Thanks to all who came to the 2018 Kansas Open with special thanks to Brian Yang and CJ Armenta who did another outstanding job of directing our tourney again this year. Thanks to all the Missouri players who crossed the border to play in the Kansas Open. Thanks to all the Kansas players and other states represented who showed up.

Link to Photo Blog (most pictures take by me though a few by Brian Yang) https://photos.app.goo.gl/rGwGJtnLvsewxywD9



Tourney director Brian Yang giving plaque for Kansas Championship to Jack Easton (this is third year in a row Jack has won Kansas Championship)



Bughouse winners for third year in a row Tony Dutiel and Ben Gradsky with Brian Yang in the middle



Who is giving trophy to whom? Left to right- assistant tourney director CJ Armenta giving plaque for Kansas Blitz Championship to Brian Yang



First place scholastic Blitz winner Luke Tran receiving award from you guessed it- Brian Yang



Brian Yang giving Kansas Reserve section championship to Puwit Sky Moerlein ((Puwit Sky was first place in event with 4.5 points. He tied with Ryan Duan but won award on tiebreaks) They did split money for first place but Puwit Sky won plaque.



Celina Zhou's mother sent this picture to me. It is from a National tourney. I did not have a picture of just her from the Kansas Open. Missouri player Celina finished first place scholastic in Reserve section.



Michael N Paulson won first place in Amateur section with perfect 5 wins in 5 games. He is Kansas Amateur section. (I do not need to tell you who the other fellow is.)



Solomon Wu finished with first place scholastic in Amateur section.



Kansas chess player Rick Hodges and wife sold chess equipment at the Kansas Open. Pictures are from the Skittles room.



Uday Kabirpanthi from Missouri won the U1200 check for the Amateur section. Seen with his mother I think. In background is the playing hall at the Kansas Open at Clarion Hotel.



Jared Anthony Bray from Missouri won the check for U1900 award in Open section.



Chinmay Krishna won second place scholastic award in Reserve section.



An important game from the Open section- Missouri player IM Michael Brooks playing repeat award winner Kansas Champion Jack Easton in Open section in fourth round. Game ended in a draw.