## 2017 KANSAS OPEN REPORT

The **2017 Kansas Open** was held July 21<sup>st</sup> to 23<sup>rd</sup> and the Holiday Inn East in Wichita, Kansas. It was well attended. There were 18 teams in the Bughouse, 59 in the Blitz, and 141 in the main tourney: 36 in Open, 39 in Reserve, and 66 in the Amateur sections, All the event and section entries were records. Of the 141 entries in the main event Kansas had the largest contingent with 93 players followed by 21 from Oklahoma, 11 from Missouri, 7 from Colorado, 4 from Idaho, 2 from Nebraska, 1 from Texas, 1 from New York, and 1 from Alaska. Several players, including former state champion Maxx Coleman and Blitz co-winner Missouri player Abhishek Mallela, only played in the Blitz tourney.

With the **Bughouse** event (held Friday afternoon) all entries were onsite with no pre-entries. There were a record 18 teams. The event was 5 rounds with two games played against each opponent. The team of Ben Gradsky and Tony Dutiel won first with a score of 10 out of 10. They repeated their championship as they had won the previous year also. In second place was the team of Patel and Kumar with 8 points with their only losses to the first place team. There was a two way tie for third place with the team of Mepparambath-Shirley Herman and the team of Strobl-Daniel Herman tying at 7 points. Only the first two teams received any prize money.

The **Blitz event** had only 26 early entries and had 34 entries onsite (1 withdrew). The event was a double round swiss event with 5 rounds of two games. There was a surprise appearance by Grandmaster Timur Gereyev. He had just finished instructing at the Karpov Chess Camp the day of the tourney. He finished tied for first with FIDE master Advait Patel from Oklahoma and Missouri player Abhishek Mallela all finishing with 9 points out of 10 possible. Gereyev's only loss was to Advait Patel in the last round, while Abhishek Mallela lost one game to Ben Gradsky also in the last round. Former Kansas state champion Maxx Coleman and current Kansas state champion Jack Easton both finished with 8 points. Scholastic trophy winners first to third place were Luke Tran, Erol Algan, and Timothy Nylund. They all had 5 points

The **main event** held July 22<sup>nd</sup> and 23<sup>rd</sup> had a state record in attendance. There were 80 advance entries. There were 65 onsite entries and 4 people withdrew. Technically speaking of the 21 total Oklahoma entries 20 were onsite. With all the onsite entries it was amazing that the tourney director team of Brian Yang and CJ Armenta could start the tourney with only a half hour delay. All other rounds started on schedule.

The **Open section** was very competitive. The eventual winner was FIDE master Advait Patel (he told me he is one norm short of his IM). He scored 4.5 points with 4 straight wins and then a draw in the last round. His most important game was the fourth round defeat of IM Michael Brooks from Missouri. There was then a three way tie for second with 4 points each between Missouri player Ron Luther and Kansas players Jack Easton and WIM Luidmila Mokriak. It went to tiebreak consideration between the two Kansas players: **Jack Easton was crowned the 2017 Kansas State champion**, a title he had also won the

previous year. The U1900 winner was Kansas player Joseph Serwadda who had been the Kansas Reserve champion the previous year.

The **Reserve section** had 39 players. The winner was Kansas player Rick Hodges finishing all by himself with 4.5 points. There was a four way tie for second place between Oklahoma players Jim Huang and Curtis Williams Jr and Kansas players John McDowell and Cael Province. As Cael was playing as a scholastic player and was not eligible for cash prizes, he finished first place for the scholastic trophy given in that section. There was a prize for U1600 in the Reserve section. This went to Zack Gingrich-Gaylord and Michael Shoenhofer. Both finished with 3.5 points. Shoenhofer was a surprise finisher as his rating coming into the tourney was only 1177. His rating went almost 300 points as a result of his performance. Also at 3.5 points was Ryan Duan and he won the second place scholastic trophy in the section.

The **Amateur section** had 66 participants. In first place by himself was Kansas player Joshua Sugg. He finished with a perfect 5 wins in 5 games. He is the 2017 Kansas Amateur champion. Cooper Watkins finished second with 4.5 points, but as he played as a scholastic player he just won the first place scholastic trophy. There were 6 players tied with 4.0 points. Winning money with a three way tie were Kansas players Don Johnson, Robert Kendrick, and Randall Endelby and Oklahoma player Chris Amburgy. Scholastic players Finn Byrnes and Gergely Chikan also finished with 4.0 points with Finn getting the second place scholastic trophy on tiebreaks. There was an under 1200 prize and this was shared by Kansas player Matthew Ferguson and Missouri player Arlie Cummins.

The star of the tourney was Oklahoma player and soon to be International Master **Advait Patel**. His Bughouse team with Oklahoma player Kumar (uncertain which of the Kumar brothers) finished in second place in the event, he finished tied for first in the Blitz, and he won the Open section outright with 4.5 points; a very good weekend indeed.

Make plans for the **2018 Kansas Open**. It will be in Topeka, Kansas July 13<sup>th</sup> to 15<sup>th</sup>. It is hoped that attendance then will be as good as this year's Kansas Open.

Thanks to all who came to the 2017 Kansas Open with special thanks to Brian Yang and CJ Armenta who did an outstanding job of directing the tourney with such a large number of players. And, thanks to the Holiday Inn east for having such a nice facility to have the event. We had just enough space for all the entries.

Link to Photo Blog (most pictures take by me though some by Brian Yang) <a href="https://get.google.com/albumarchive/108586918080555793271/album/AF1QipOC5KAbwdULHBfZcYLKq55CqKB6LcOtjyOiz1zh?source=pwa&authKey=CN-M1cu6-eCSJQ">https://get.google.com/albumarchive/108586918080555793271/album/AF1QipOC5KAbwdULHBfZcYLKq55CqKB6LcOtjyOiz1zh?source=pwa&authKey=CN-M1cu6-eCSJQ</a>

Photos next page



New Kansas Blitz champion GM Timur Gareyev with TD Brian Yang



Action from Blitz- Maxx Coleman vs GM Timur Gareyev and Advait Patel vs Jack Easton (Shirley Herman from Colorado looking on)



Bughouse winning team of Ben Gradsky and Tony Dutiel with Brian Yang



Open section winner Advait Patel with Brian Yang



2017 Kansas State chess champion Jack Easton with Brian Yang



Reserve Section winner and top Kansas player in section Rick Hodges with Brian (Rick is also the Renaissance Festival coordinator- contact him to work festival)



The playing hall at the South Ballroom at the Holiday Inn in Wichita, Ks



Amateur section winner and top Kansas player in section Joshua Sugg with Brian



More Blitz section action in last round- Timur Gareyev vs Advait Patel with Abhishek Mallela in background (Abhishek finished tied for first)



WIM Luidmila Mokriak from Topeka- She finished tied for second in the Open section but lost Kansas Championship title to Jack Easton on tie breaks