## CHESS NEWS JULY 26<sup>th</sup>, 2012

The Kansas Open was held July 20<sup>th</sup> to 22<sup>nd</sup> at the Holliday Inn at 87<sup>th</sup> and Reeder in Overland Park, KS.

The **Quick Event** was held July 20<sup>th</sup> in the evening. Twenty four attended. Michael Brooks with 4.5 out of 5 possible points. With 4.0 points were Abhishek Mallela. Ben Gradsky, and Brian Yang. As Brian Yang is the top rated Kansas player in the section, he is our new Kansas Quick Champion. Scholastic winners were Kiana Hajairbabi, Maverick Lewis, and Steven Burgoon respectively.



Brian Yang (left) 2012 Kansas Quick Champion (with Laurence Coker)

The **BugHouse event** only had four teams this year and was won by the team of Tony Dutiel and Ben Gradsky.

The Main event consisted of two events: the Open section and the Reserve section. The Open section was open to all players and the Reserve section was limited to players rated 1799 and below

The **Open section** which had 24 players was a tie with Ron Luther and Michael Brooks both scoring 4.0 points out of 5.0. Both players had 3 wins and 2 draws. At 3.5 points were Tim Steiner, Jose Gatica, Bob Holliman, and Frank Smith. As Tim Steiner is the only Kansas player in the top six finishers, he is the new Kansas Chess Champion.



Tim Steiner (left) 2012 Kansas Chess Champion (with Brian Yang on the right)

The **Reserve section** had 51 participants with three players finishing with 4.5 points, each having had 4 wins and 1 draw. The players were Shaktiprasad Shimpi, Joey Kelly, and John Rebholz. Shimpi and Kelly are both from Kansas and Kelly won on tiebreaks becoming the new Kansas Reserve Champion. Scholastic players winning were Kiana Hajairbabi, Andrew Liu, and Steven Burgoon respectively.



Joey Kelly (left) 2012 Kansas Reserve Champion (with Brian Yang right)

Thanks to all who participated. Thanks to our tourney directors: Bill Broich, CJ Armenta, and Brian Yang.

AUTHOR-LAURENCE COKER